First Post from Hawai’i

So, I’m in Hawai’i now. Still working on some grad school apps. Got at least two left. So, while I’m in a Starbucks near my hotel, working on them, and also procrastinating a bit. I’ve been to the beach, and taken a few pictures.

So, here they are.

I guess the stone is some sort of gabbro.

Registration desk in the hotel. I guess the stone is some sort of porphyritic basalt. Edit: Rapakivi-textured granite, per Ron Edit 2: Baltic Brown, quarried in Finland, around 1Ga, as per Dave

I guess its a diorite

A table in the hotel. I guess it's a diorite Edit: More likely larvikite, per Ron Edit 2: likely a stone from Brazil known as Uba Tuba, per Dave

A neat banyan tree near the hotel.

A neat banyan tree near the hotel.

The beautiful beach by the hotel

The beautiful beach by the hotel

A sea urchin. My first regular echinoid observed in the wild.

A sea urchin. My first regular echinoid observed in the wild.

Cityscape + mountains + clouds = awesome

Cityscape + mountains + clouds = awesome

Hope people like the pictures.

Just submitted another grad school app (4 complete now, 1 to 3 more to go). Going to the big island tomorrow for three days, and I’ll try to put up some of the better pictures plus maybe even some geology in the accompanying post. However, I doubt it’ll be quite as good as what has already been put up by better bloggers than me. But, I’ll do my best to at least put up an okay shot or two.

Edit: updated the captions of the table rocks, as per Ron’s comments. Why is wordpress being lame and not doing strikethrough for the captions?

Edit: Ah, okay, I at least know probably why it was being lame. Oh well.

Tags:

4 Responses to “First Post from Hawai’i”

  1. Ron Schott Says:

    That first photo is actually a rapakivi-textured granite and I suspect the second one is larvikite (a type of syenite).

    Don’t sell yourself short – the Big Island has lots of great stuff to discover. (That said – you can’t go wrong with flowing lava – if its accessible.) Good Luck!

  2. jdelanoy Says:

    Ah. That would all make sense. Thanks for the corrections!

    And yes, hopefully, we’ll find some good stuff here. Heck, I already managed to find free internet for a little bit, which I wasn’t expecting, so maybe I’ll find more cool stuff than I think.

    My two main goals are to try to find some flowing lava, and visit the green sand beach. Maybe it won’t happen, but we’ll see.

  3. David Williams Says:

    Jay,

    Ron is right. The first is a rapakivi granite. I believe that it is one known in the trade as Baltic Brown. It’s quarried in Finland and is around 1Ga. The second looks like a stone from Brazil known as Uba Tuba. I know nothing else about it except that I like the name.

    Thanks for the post.

  4. jdelanoy Says:

    Very neat, thanks Dave! I’ll update the post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

